October Reading List

You can never get me a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.

~ C. S. Lewis

I was a little random this month with my reading choices, but ended up with some really good books (I think!). Anyways, I ended up, again, with six novels.

Flying Changes: A Novel  by Sara Gruen

This one is a modern story with horses being a major part of it, which is what made me pick it up in the first place. It is about a 40 year old woman who is attempting to overcome struggles in life, mainly her rebellious teenage daughter. If the equestrian points in it are accurate, then I shouldn’t have a hard time enjoying it!

The Warrior Heir  by Cinda Williams Chima

This book is a recent release that I’ve heard talked about by several bloggers and vloggers and when I found it at the library, I snatched it up! It is the first book in The Heir Chronicles, and is set in a modern world with what seems to be fantasy characters? It is about a young boy who unknowingly is part of a great battle for power, a part that he seemingly has no control over. Looks great!

The Hawk and the Jewel  by Lori Wick

I always like a good romance, and this one seems to be exactly that, but with a twist. The girl has been raised in Arabia and is now being brought back to Victorian England. It is a Christian-based novel, so hopefully it balances with my own beliefs in that regard. The Hawk and the Jewel is the first in the Kensington Chronicles by Lori Wick.

Of Triton  by Anna Banks

I read the first book (Of Poseidon) in The Syrena Legacy back in September and liked it enough to go in search of the second book! It is a continuation of the first one, with Emma being forced to deal with all the changes and issues that she discovered in Of Poseidon.

Kiss  by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy

I went in search of a Ted Dekker book after being told about how great and wonderful his stories are. This one seemed the most intriguing, about a young woman who wakes up after what she is told was a terrible accident that was her fault. But she is missing six months of her memory. Mystery and suspense usually aren’t my genre, but here goes!

Poison  by Bridget Zinn

This one was released in March of 2014 and looks like so much fun! A young girl, potions, poisons, and a pig? Hopefully it will be as cute and enjoyable as it seems.


 

What are you reading this month? It’s getting into fall and winter, the best times to curl up with a good book. Have you read any of the books I listed, or are you planning to?

3 thoughts on “October Reading List

  1. If you like The Hawk and The Jewel I’ll try it out! 🙂 And I’ve read the Warrior Heir and the rest of that series…I vaguely remember it. It seemed just a bit unrealistic, but it’s been a while. I’ll be interested in hearing what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)