Joy

Are you happy?

For the most part, you are happy because something happened today (or recently).  Something out of the ordinary that stood out enough to make you smile for several hours.  And then, of course, there are just those days when you’re happy no matter what.  I love those days.  🙂

My busy life, combined with various people problems (I’m a very strong introvert) often wears me down and I find it hard to be happy.  This misery usually lasts several days, maybe a week before I start to get frustrated with myself, because I know that this isn’t the real me.  I know that deep inside me, in my soul, I am capable of an immense joy that nothing can compare to.  In the words of Robert Louis Stevenson:

“…Find out where joy resides, and give it a voice beyond singing.  For to miss the joy is to miss all.”

 

(Image found via Pinterest, link HERE)

So, what can one do to find this joy and cause it to sing?

Well… here is what I do… 🙂

  1. Be grateful.  Truly grateful… be thankful for everything.  Today, I am thankful that I had a car to drive to school.  I am thankful for my horses and my dog, because they are always so happy to see me.
  2. Appreciate the little things.  This is said so often, but it really is true.  The past two mornings, it has been very foggy when I leave for school, so I have been forced to drive slower than I normally would.  I have been making up stories about all the things that appear out of ‘nowhere’, fun little things!  Also, its rather silly, but my horses know which window of the house is my bedroom window, and they will stare into my window until I come out and hug them (or feed them, preferably).  It makes me laugh, because I love them so much.
  3. Be present.  This one is the hardest for me.  I have such a tendency to dwell on things that happened yesterday, especially if they weren’t all that great.  I stress and worry, even though I can do nothing now to change it.  I do not like this part of myself, and I keep trying to change it.  Life is so much more enjoyable when I’m thinking solely about what is happening now, or in the very near future.  Bonus:  It’s much easier to do items 1 and 2 if you get this one down! 😉

I think all of us could work a little harder on our inner joy.  What do you do to create happiness in your life?

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

