Two Thousand Fourteen

DSCF0515

Two thousand and fourteen. It’s finally here.

 

In one sense, I thought it would never get here. On the other hand, I’m looking back and thinking “Where did the time go?!” It has been a difficult, but very rewarding year for me. I had just finished my first semester of college when 2013 began, and I had little planned other than school and working.

Actually, I did make a few goals for 2013, and now I am very pleased to look back at them. I wanted to journal and read the Bible regularly. I wrote in my journal religiously for most of the first half of the year, and read my Bible nearly every day for the last half of the year. I guess that counts? Hmmm…. Check?

Another of my goals for 2013 was to get baptized. This one is not questionable in the least. I was baptized on July 14 at Victory Baptist Church, and it was one of the best days of my life. Check!

The last of my goals was to canter my horse without fear. And….This goal did not happen. Lady, my dear horse, has had a lot of trouble with her back and joints, so I have to be careful with her now. So… no check, but it’s okay.  J

Also in 2013, I finished the final draft of my book – which is now sitting on a shelf waiting to be edited and prepared for publication, went on a six hour trail ride with a friend and her horse, was a pianist for Les Misѐrables, the musical, and learned a lot about myself and other people.

Did something amazing and wonderful, or maybe horrible and painful happen to you in 2013? Or was it just another average year? It really doesn’t matter which one it was, Two Thousand and Fourteen can be your year to succeed!

Although a lot of people do not, I love the idea of New Year’s Resolutions, and I have quite a list going on this year! Some of my resolutions aren’t very big and I know I can get them done, whereas some of them are a bit questionable and I’m not sure what is going to happen.  I love being organized, and my list is divided into categories: writing, music, horses, fitness, etc.  I think I might be a bit overenthusiastic this year!

CHALLENGE: Write down one of your biggest dreams. The one that you daydream about all the time, but keep pushing aside because it’s just “impossible.”  Underneath, write down all the things that would have to happen for you to be able to attain that dream. Every day for the next week or two (however long it takes), pull that piece of paper out and brainstorm for 5-10 minutes about how to make it happen. Keep it up until you have everything broken down into easier chunks that actually look possible! Congratulations, you now have an action plan, and possibly the plot for your next novel.

 

Image credit: Katharine Marie

 

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

