Reading: The List Goes On and On

What book are you reading right now?  Well… not right now, since I assume you are reading this post, but what book are you currently working your way through?

Hopefully you’re not like me in the respect that life plays games with you and before you know it, you have not read in nearly two weeks, or a month, or longer! Hopefully, you’re not like me…..

I am currently reading Les Misѐrables. I have been reading Les Misѐrables for nearly a year. It is shameful, especially since Victor Hugo is an extraordinary writer, but it is true.

However, one of my resolutions for 2014 is to read more and the first step is finish Les Misѐrables and move on. I have decided to complete the book before I go back to school on the 13th. Not that I hate the book, but I have a long list of books that are begging to be read. You see, while I was reading Les Misѐrables all of last year, I went on collecting books at my usual pace – not fast enough.

by Jason M Parrish, via Flickr

by Jason M Parrish, via Flickr

Several of these books are non-fiction like Ceser’s Way, a dog handling book; The Man Who Listens to Horses, an autobiography of Monty Roberts, three different guides about music and teaching music, and After Diana.

Looking to the fiction side of things, I have several shorter children’s books, along with Girl of the Limberlost and Where the Red Fern Grows.

Most of the rest are older classics:

–        The Garden of Eden, by Ernest Hemingway

–        Hard Times, by Charles Dickens

–        Anne of Avonlea, by L.M. Montgomery

–        The New Arabian Nights, by Robert Lewis Stevenson

–        The Phantom of the Opera, by Gaston Leroux (a re-read)

–        Gulliver’s Travels, by Jonathon Swift

However, the book I plan to read next is not a classic (yet!), but a newly published book, by a newly published author. Julia Debski is a friend of mine, and I am excited to support her first book: The Hazel Tree.

Have you read any, all, or none of the books on my list? What are you reading now? Comment and let me know!

 

3 thoughts on “Reading: The List Goes On and On

  1. Zachary says:

    The title should be “The List Goes Ever On and On” 😉
    But I don’t really make a list, I just read whatever I come across that sounds good.
    Though I do plan to read more Ted Dekker and to finish The Ranger’s Apprentice series.. 🙂

    Like

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

