The History of “Rebellion Under the Stars” – Origins

5034760960_6254b4cd1bPhoto by J. Paxon Reyes via Flickr.

My goodness – I can’t believe this is my first post of the month!  I’ve certainly let school get the best of me the last few weeks, but everything is back to routine again, and Spring Break is coming up.  Exciting!

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while now, and finally decided last month to go ahead and write it – so here is the written history of my work-in-progress, beginning with its origins.

I have loved horses for as long as I can possibly remember – in fact, my time spent training horses provides a lot of inspiration for my writing.  But when I was 9 or 10 years old, I didn’t own horses yet and therefore my child’s imagination ran wild with stories and games about them.

And that is how my book first came onto paper – in the form of colorful baby horses, running around in the clouds.  Definitely a little girl’s fantasy – complete with lavish royalty, gangs and police, rainbows, and really odd situations.

I didn’t have a main character or even a plot at that point! Each “chapter” was its own adventure and there were seven or eight little baby horse friends that took turns being the main character – and that number only grew! Each character had a story that had to be told in some form or fashion.

How did this morph into a fantasy tale about human beings fighting a rebellion in a country overrun with strange people and creatures?  Well… I’ll write about that next time, but interestingly enough, almost nothing remains of the original stories of a 10 year old girl, just a few vague scraps of imagination.

 

Don’t forget to sign up for my monthly email newsletter, which goes out during the first week of every month. It’s short, sweet, and fun! 

2 thoughts on “The History of “Rebellion Under the Stars” – Origins

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

