5 Favorite Authors

Who is your absolute favorite author to read? You know, the one who you are so confident in that you’ll pick up one of their books simply because they wrote it, and for no other reason think it has to be good! I have a few of them, and maybe knowing who they are will help make a bit of sense out of my insanity and writing styles/habits.

Image by Patricia Oliveira via Flickr - Creative Commons

Image by Patricia Oliveira via Flickr – Creative Commons

J.R.R. Tolkien (1892-1973)

Definitely one of my top favorites. I could read his writings over and over again because he was such a master of storytelling. Of course, he writes generally in the fantasy genre, which has influenced my work dramatically. Quite honestly, I have not read much of his work, because some of it is very difficult to find. The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and the Silmarillion are the three most popular, and I have read all of them. Short works of his that I have also read include Roverandom, The Road Goes Ever On, Smith of Wooten Major, Tree and Leaf, Farmer Giles of Ham, as well as short bits of the Unfinished Tales, which I have yet to finish.

“In our world, a star is a flaming ball of gas.”

“Even in your world, my son, that is not what a star is, but only what it is made of.”

C.S. Lewis (1898-1963)

I was introduced to the Chronicles of Narnia at an early age, and have always loved the fantastic stories. Lewis wrote as though he were actually talking to a child and I devoured his words again and again. I am fairly certain that the Narnia tales helped to birth my love for words and writing in general. He also wrote a “Space Trilogy” for adult readers, which I plan to read in the future if I can get my hands on a copy, and many religious works, which are well worth the read – The Screwtape Letters is one of my favorites.

Image by Tschäff, via Flickr - Creative Commons. Painting by Ilya Repin - 1891

Image by Tschäff, via Flickr – Creative Commons. Painting by Ilya Repin – 1891

Leo Tolstoy (1828-1910)

I’ll be honest, I have only read three of Tolstoy’s works: War and Peace, Anna Karenina, and one of his short stories. He had some interesting beliefs and convictions which came out strongly in his writing that I do not always agree with; however, his writing is enjoyable and quite good. His stories, also, are intriguing.

Image by Thalita Carvalho, via Flickr - Creative Commons.

Image by Thalita Carvalho, via Flickr – Creative Commons.

Jane Austen (1775-1870)

Austen is a lovely and witty writer. I have read every one of her novels at least twice, as well as the short fiction work Lady Susan. I usually do not enjoy romance novels, but her works are so full of fun and mischievous situations that one cannot help but enjoy them. Pride and Prejudice will likely always be my favorite (the first I ever read) but I also love Persuasion and Northanger Abbey.

George MacDonald (1824-1905)

I discovered MacDonald several years ago and discovered that I had loved him for years, through an abridged version of The Princess and Curdie in a reading textbook that I had read over and over. His works can be difficult to get ahold of as many of them are out of print. At the Back of the North Wind and Phantastes are two of my favorites, but all of his writing is so deep and yet written for a child that I love all of his books.

Its hard to choose only five authors to be my favorites. Other writers whose works I love dearly include (in no particular order) Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe, Robert Lewis Stevenson, Steven Black, Lewis Carrol, Lois Lowry, and Charlotte Brontë.

Who are your favorites? Leave a comment telling me which author you love and why I might like to read their work. You might just get me hooked on a new favorite!

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

