Preparation for Survival – Camp NanoWrimo 2014

In the wake of my completed and proof-read first novel, I am preparing to write my second one, and I will be doing it with the help of Camp NanoWrimo. Just to quickly cover what that means – NanoWrimo stands for National Novel Writing Month and usually runs in November. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Camp Nano runs in April and July and is a lot less restrictive than the official Nano. You get to choose your own word count, anywhere from 10,000 to 1,000,000! You can also work on any project, not just a novel!

For April, I will be working on the sequel to Rebellion Under the Stars. This story has already undergone two “false” starts, but I have taken the time this month to outline and plan. Since I have a good idea of where this story is going and what will be happening, it should be much easier to write and not get stuck in a rut.

My goal is going to be 30,000 words for the month. That is precisely 1,000 words per day, but as any writer knows, some days just don’t work as well as others, so I’ll be pushing ahead any day I can.

Since I’ve finally gotten a good outline together, I’m going to have to rewrite my synopsis for this novel. I’m bringing back quite a few characters from Rebellion, mostly my favorites! It will be a totally new setting, new story, and a new villain! I’ve gotten upset at the outline already a few times – it likes to come up with ideas that, while they’re good for the plot, make me very sad. Sigh.

At the point of writing this, I have 3 days, 16 hours, 42 minutes, and 30 seconds until the start of Camp. Lots of work has to be done yet – here is my prep checklist.

  •         Brainstorm for at least an hour for any elements that need to be included.
  •         Write a rough outline.
  •         Rewrite said outline.
  •         Write several sentences about each chapter. Outline scenes.
  •         Make character sketches (minimum: name, relationships, 5-10 important aspects) Pinterest!
  •         Develop settings. More Pinterest!  (Optional)
  •         Write a synopsis.
  •         Research anything involved in the story that is unfamiliar.
  •         Create a checklist/worksheet for my benefit.
  •         Clear a good writing space and daily time slot.
  •         Tell people. I can be shamed into finishing that way!   This post!
  •         Create music playlists for inspiration.
  •         Come up with a good personal reward!

Of course, I’ve also got to write up blog posts for the month of April, and put together the month’s newsletter, which by they way, if you’re not signed up for, you should go do right now! Click HERE!

In other exciting news, I think Spring is finally here! I’m loving the beautiful mornings without the bitter cold. Hopefully you are too, unless you’ve still got snow, in which case you need to come to Texas!  🙂

One thought on “Preparation for Survival – Camp NanoWrimo 2014

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

