The “Other” Passion

This month is really focused on building this blog into a place full of life and interest, rather than a boring skeleton because skeletons are kind of creepy and strange and who wants to read a blog about a skeleton? Actually, that could be interesting.

Yesterday I spent some time rewriting my About page, which you can find now under the menu at the top of the page. Instead of just a long paragraph about my writing, I did my best to turn it into an intriguing piece about who I am. If you haven’t seen it since the revision, go check it out and let me know what you think!

One of the things I mentioned in passing was that I train and ride horses. This is my “other” passion: being an equestrian and skilled horse trainer.

I’m very blessed to live in the country and own two horses that I can see out of my bedroom window every morning. One of them is a sweet spotted pony and the other is my riding horse Lady,a very fine flashy girl with quite a few competitive years behind her. I do not compete in anything yet, although I really want to once I move off to college.

One of my equestrian dreams is to compete in jumping, with all the fancy fences and racing against the clock. Unfortunately, Lady has mild arthritis and several other minor health problems and I made the decision not to do jumping with her. Instead we work on dressage, which is a sport of precision and specific movements. It is challenging for both of us, but I can say that I am completely in love with it. For example, I have to learn to communicate with her and how to speak to each part of her body so that we can work together as a team.

I have no idea if my passion for horses and training will ever blossom into a job or help me further my career, but they will keep me happy and content with my life.

Flying Free is my bloggy chronicle of horse-related adventures so that I can keep this place focused on writing and dreams, but it will probably slip in every once in a while. Follow me there if you are interested in lots of cute horse pictures.

Do you have pets? 🙂

8 thoughts on “The “Other” Passion

  1. Thanks for the follow on my blog! I love that you ride dressage, too. And I LOVE that you have a horse named Lady! I had one (with a few health issues of her own) when I was growing up. Living in the country and keeping your horses at home is the best thing in the world. 🙂

    Like

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

