A Trip to the Bookstore

I don’t get to go to a bookstore very often at all. There simply is not a good one in my area and I have to go all the way to the Dallas/Fort Worth area to find something.

When I read the Daily Prompt, over at The Daily Post this morning, I was reminded of my most recent literary purchase. It was just over a week ago when I went with a friend to a taekwondo tournament near Dallas and I managed to sneak a bookstore visit in after we finished competing.

You should know that I rarely buy new books. I usually get used ones that are in very nice condition, and therefore going to Half Price Books is the best thing next to chocolate. This time around I only picked up three books, since I could not find some of the other ones that I wanted. And I had limited my budget quite severely. <very sad face>

The first one I found was Othello, by William Shakespeare. I needed a new play, and chose the first one that looked interesting. It just happened to be Othello. There is no telling whether I will enjoy it or not, but it is one of Shakespeare’s tragedies, which I usually find fun to read.

The House of the Seven Gables was my second find. This book, by Nathaniel Hawthorne, has been on my list of books to read for a while now, so I was very pleased to find it, and on clearance nonetheless! It is also a nice hardcover edition, which makes me happy!

And the final book I picked out was not a novel, but nonfiction. I was beyond thrilled to find that this Half Price Books not only had a section devoted to animals, but an entire five shelves of books dedicated to horse care, training, etc. It was hard to choose just one, but eventually I chose The Education of Horse and Rider, by Jean Froissard and Lily Powell. It is a very well-written introduction to classical training and dressage and I’ve been eyeing it on Amazon for some time now.

Of course, all this trip to the bookstore did was make my list of books-to-be-read taller. I have been re-reading various series lately, but hopefully in September I will focus again on more novels that I have not touched yet at all.

What is your favorite bookstore to go to? Do you also limit yourself to a budget, or just buy ALL THE BOOKS?!  I wish I could.

 

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

