Monthly/Weekly Goals: Focus

Aim at the sun, and you may not reach it; but your arrow will fly far higher than if aimed at an object on a level with yourself.

~ J. Howes

New feature for this blog – in order to keep myself accountable, and build community, I will be posting every Monday with my goals for the week and a summary of how I did the previous week. These goals will be mostly writing/reading oriented, but I will also include some other art-related ones.

Of course, this week is also the beginning of September, which means I also have several goals for the month!

For the month of September:

  • Finish the final edit of my novel Rebellion. (Not including final proofreading stage.)
  • Organize and edit my collection of short stories as a collection.
  • Keep up with the blog posting schedule I have for the month (4 posts minimum per week).
  • Reading:
    • The House of the Seven Gables, by Nathaniel Hawthorne
    • Othello, by William Shakespeare
    • Dragonflight, by Anne McCaffrey
    • The Bride, by Julie Garwood
    • Of Poseidon, by Anna Banks
    • The Lost Prince, by Julie Kagawa
    • The Education of Horse and Rider (studying project: work through sections I through IV)
  • Have at least 1 piano lesson with my old teacher.
  • Further information and other personal goals.

For this week:

  • Print off at least part of my manuscript of Rebellion to start editing on.
  • Pick up books at the library.
  • Read The House of the Seven Gables.
  • Schedule a time with my piano teacher.
  • Start reading my short stories again and making notes.
  • And, obviously, write my 4 blog posts for this week (this is one!).

Do you enjoy making goals? What are some of your goals for this week, or even the month of September? I would love to read your comments and/or your own post on the subject!

 

3 thoughts on “Monthly/Weekly Goals: Focus

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

