Facing Fear

Even though I proudly call myself a writer, there are many times when it happens that I don’t write. For several days, even several weeks or a month sometimes.  In all reality, my title lately should be “blogger” instead of “writer” because I spend most of my writing time putting together posts for both this blog and my horse adventures.

It’s hard to admit, but sometimes I just don’t feel like writing. I get afraid of writing something bad. I get distracted by homework or other chores. Hard to believe, isn’t it?

But it does happen and more often than I would like to.

Even though I have less-than-enthusiastic feelings about the hugely popular movie Frozen, I thoroughly enjoyed this article from Writer Unboxed, linking the song Let It Go into a discussion about not writing because of fear and self-imposed limits.

The author’s words resonated with me because too often I find myself logging into Pinterest instead of opening a Word document, or getting a bowl of ice cream and turning on the next episode of my latest favorite tv show instead of editing another chapter of my novel.  Whoops.

While I was struggling to finish and win Camp NanoWrimo in July, I had a burst of inspiration for a totally new story. You can read a little about my journey into that in this post that I wrote about new things, but in the last week or so I’ve started struggling with this new project as well.

I have character sketches, a basic outline, bad-guy-motivation, pages of research, more or less everything I need to start writing. But I’m scared of… you guessed it… starting.

That’s my confession, and I’m sure you have your own similar things. But how do we get across that hurdle?

In that article from Writer Unboxed, the author, Anna Elliot, wrote, “Letting go of our own fears can mean writing fearlessly… writing without fear that we’ll make mistakes, without worry that we’ll never be good enough or amount to anything.”

Substitute “living” for “writing” in that quote, or any other word you choose. Either way, it is very true. When we’re afraid of what others think, or of making mistakes, all we do is hold ourselves back from true potential.

I don’t know about you, but I’m off to open up that Word document and get started on my new story! Then, and only then, do I get ice cream and Pinterest!  Let me know in the comments below how you plan to overcome your fear, or if you’re brave enough, tell me what your fear is!

2 thoughts on “Facing Fear

  1. Tracy says:

    Sometimes getting started and putting yourself out there is the toughest part of a challenge for me. Whenever I feel that way, I remind myself that only I can determine worth. Maybe Jane Doe didn’t like my last blog post, but I did. And in the end, that’s what matters most!

    Like

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

