September Reading List – Review

If you read my goals post at the beginning of the month you know that I set up a list of books to read in September. Six of them to be precise. Today is the last day of September and I have gotten through four and a half of them. I never did get to Shakespeare’s Othello, but considering that I haven’t been in the mood to read a play lately, its okay. Since I’m not very good at detailed reviews, for now I’m doing a monthly wrap-up of my literary adventures.

cropped-8417538157_94419be701.jpg

The House of the Seven Gables, by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I already knew I liked Hawthorne’s writing, so its no surprise that I enjoyed reading this book. It was a little slow and confusing to start off with, but once it got going I loved it. Obviously, considering when it was written, the reading level is a bit higher than modern literature. The characters had real depth and genuine problems that resonated with me. Definitely a good read!

Dragonflight, by Anne McCaffrey. Here is where the half a book comes in… I’m afraid that I just did not have the will to finish this one. There were too many characters and many of the names were very similar and therefore confusing. At the beginning, the plot was interesting and I liked the MC but then the story began rambling, I lost the train of the plot, and finally laid it down about two-thirds done. I didn’t even much care about the ending. I wanted to like this book and maybe somebody out there does, but it wasn’t for me.

The Bride, by Julie Garwood. This book was everything I wanted it to be: a (mostly) light romance that had a tendril of seriousness and reality, but overall was just fun and made me smile. Oh, and there were Scottish guys. A relaxing and enjoyable read!

Of Poseidon, by Anna Banks. Of all three series that I started this month, this is the only one I plan on continuing. It was relatively easy reading, clean, original, and had a good mix of fun and reality. Of Triton is the second book and will be on my October reading list!

The Lost Prince, by Julie Kagawa. Also the start of another series, but one that I won’t be continuing for some time. The plot was intriguing, the story was fairly well told, but overall it wasn’t as clean as I would have liked and the MC wasn’t as deep as she could have been.

What did you read in September? Have you read any of the books I did and what did you think of them?

One thought on “September Reading List – Review

  1. I read Behold the Dawn by K.M. Weiland, and it was one of those books you can’t put done. That’s how much I loved it. 😉

    Also I read the entire Last Apprentice series by Joseph Delaney. I intend to write a review on the series on my blog Under Cover Agents – noodleandmountaingal.blogspot.com if you’re interested… ;D – because the series went out 13 books and still isn’t finished! It’s suffering from Long Series Syndrome. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

What Say You? We Don't Bite Here :)

